For most domains, a grace period applies in the event of deletion, the so-called Redemption Grace Period. During this period, a deleted domain cannot be re-registered, but can be restored at a charge. This procedure protects domain holders from the unintentional loss of their domain due to an accidental deletion.


If the registration of a domain is terminated, the deletion is initially followed by a grace period. The number of days varies from registry to registry, but is usually 30 days (see our price list for details). The domain remains in the grace period free of charge. During this period, the domain in question can only be re-registered for the last domain holder or a third party designated by the last domain holder. Only after expiry of the grace period and if no new registration has been made by the last domain holder or a third party designated by the last domain holder, the domain will be available for re-registration by any interested party.


How can a domain that is in the Redemption Period be restored?

Please contact our support. If the domain is still with another provider, apply for the AuthCode there as soon as possible so that a transfer can be carried out in good time.